Book~Reviews, Kelly Talk, Orion Books

The Returning Tide @liz_fenwick @orionbooks #Review

510TrjyGbIL

Two sisters and one betrayal that will carry across generations . . .

In wartime Cornwall, 1943, a story between two sisters begins – the story of Adele and Amelia, and the heart-breaking betrayal that will divide them forever. Decades later, the effects of one reckless act still echo – but how long will it be until their past returns?

The Returning Tide will sweep you away to the beautiful Cornish coast, full of secrets and mystery, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

Liz Fenwick 

C6pQuD5WYAAOtMF
@liz_fenwick Twitter

Writer, ex-pat expert, wife, mother of three, and dreamer turned doer….

Award-winning author of The Cornish House, A Cornish Affair, A Cornish Stranger and Under A Cornish Sky. After nine international moves, Liz is a bit of a global nomad. It’s no wonder her heart remains in Cornwall.

My Review ~ The Returning Tide ~ Liz Fenwick

 Published 23rd March 17, Orion Books 

Sometimes a book comes along and you know you were destined to read it. I purchased The Returning Tide in audiobook form. So I could listen whilst I worked.  The problem was I was getting no work done. I was hooked from chapter one. I really enjoyed the audiobook version but I read faster so I took to kindle to read during the day and on my evenings I listened to the audiobook.

The book flip-flops from the 1940’s to 2015, it’s a lovely switch that I really enjoyed. We are taken from Cornwall to Cape Cod, having been to both placesI was lucky to be able to be able to have the advantage of remembering the smells and scenes from my travels.

I fell in love with the characters, the paths that life (Liz Fenwick) chose for them. For once I didn’t know the ending of the book, the big reveal was shocking to me. I am usually pretty sure of how a book will end, but not with The Returning Tide, I found it very refreshing that the outcome was not rushed and that I to had to go through the journey with Adele, Lara, Amelia, Bobby and more.

A definite highlight of my year, it’s truly fantastic. I cried, laughed and broke with the characters.  I cannot wait to read Liz Fenwicks other reads

 

You can order your copy today of The Returning Tide ~ Amazon UK

Huge thanks to Liz Fenwick for the story and the characters. I will cherish them always. Thanks to Orion and Net Galley for my advanced copy to review. 

Find Love Books Group here too:

twitter-128 TWITTER       instagram_2016_iconINSTAGRAM  downloadFACEBOOK

Orion Books, Q&A

We All Begin As Strangers @HarrietWriter @orionbooks #Q&A

We All Begin As Strangers

It’s 1984, and summer is scorching the ordinary English village of Heathcote.

What’s more, a mysterious figure is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows. Dubbed ‘the Fox’, he knows everything about everyone – leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community believes the Fox is responsible.

But as the residents scramble to solve the mystery of Anna’s disappearance, little do they know it’s their darkest secrets the Fox is really after…

Inspired by a real 80s mystery, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you’ll want to recommend to everyone.

You can purchase your copy here ~ Amazon UK

Harriet Cummings 

HARRIET CUMMINGS

Harriet is a novelist and copywriter with a background in the history of art.

She currently lives in Leamington Spa, UK, with her husband and springer spaniel.

Twitter   Facebook   Website

My Q&A with Harriet 

Describe yourself using three words?

laid-back, introverted, oddball

What inspired you to write your first novel?

We All Begin As Strangers was inspired by a real-life story: in the summer of 1984, a man dubbed ‘The Fox’ was breaking into people’s homes around the area of The Chilterns, Buckinghamshire. Although he did attack people, he also often simply watched families for hours without them realising he was there, before disappearing again. Born in Pitstone that summer, I grew up hearing stories about him and thought the idea of The Fox would make an interesting starting point for a novel.

What time of day do you like to write?

First thing in the morning when my mind is clear and calm. The later it gets, the more distracted I become by everything…basically, the internet.

What’s your favourite book cover by another author and why?

812I+tp4jcL.jpg

Recently I really loved the cover of The Vegetarian by Han Kang which I found very striking. I tend to like abstract – rather than pictorial – artwork that’s both intriguing and beautifully made.

Who is your favourite book character that has stayed with you long after the book ended?

09f96c70e91fcc39347085d51fdda1e7

Aslan from The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe! As a child I cried myself to sleep after reading the chapter where he was tied up and killed on The Stone Table.

More recently I really enjoyed the protagonist of Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh – a properly dark, in some ways disturbed character who isn’t supposed to be likeable or to conform to our ideas of how a young woman should think or act. We need more female characters like this!

What is your favourite book quote?

“I knew what love was supposed to be: obsession with undertones of nausea.”― Margaret Atwood, Cat’s Eye

What’s your favourite word?

Rambunctious

If you were a colour what would it be?

Silvery blue

Do you plan your story beforehand or go with the flow?

I like to know a few key turning points, plus have at least a rough idea of the ending. This gives me a sense of direction and confidence that the writing is heading somewhere good.

Do you have any upcoming events our members can attend?

I’m speaking at Chipping Norton and Stratford literary festivals in April. Plus BeaconLit in Ivinghoe, Buckinghamshire in July. It’d be lovely to meet any fellow writers and readers at any of these events!

http://www.stratfordliteraryfestival.co.uk/event/my-road-to-publication

https://www.chiplitfest.com/events/new-voices-2017

http://www.beaconlit.co.uk/Authors.php